Countdown: Three Weeks!

29 May

Three weeks from today I will be spending my first full day of vacation in Florida!  This trip will be the first time I am leaving Russia since October and I am so excited.  I definitely think that eight months is a long time to be away from the States.

I will be staying with my parents during the trip and my sister and brother-in-law will be coming down to visit.  I have some friends in the area, too, and I’m hoping that maybe some others will be home visiting while I am there.

Other than simply spending time with family and friends, I have been trying to think of all of the things that I want to take advantage of while I am there.  There will be much shopping and eating, maybe a movie or two, and I will definitely visit the ocean.  There are also the small details: free water and refills at restaurants, I can explain what I am looking for if necessary at a store, I can pay with a credit card and not have to dig for those last 10 kopecks while receiving the stink-eye from the cashier, and I can have anything imaginable shipped from Amazon.com FOR FREE.

Even though I am completely excited about this vacation, there are two major downsides:

  1. Ben will not be joining me.
  2. I won’t be visiting California.

This is a strictly vacation trip for me, but Ben has a conference at the end of the summer that he has to attend. We discussed so many variations of how we could make the two work together, but taking separate trips was the option that made the most sense.  It worked out for the best, though, because he was offered the opportunity to teach a seminar while I am away.  We do have a month and a half together in Moscow between our States trips to explore more.

As for California, I am so glad that we were able to go back last October.  It was exactly what we needed after our move at exactly the right time.  Southern California is one of our homes and we absolutely love it there.  I will always look for opportunities to visit and I know that we will get there again, I just hope it is sooner rather than later!

до свидания!

One Response to “Countdown: Three Weeks!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Tourist in My Hometown « Ivanna the Terriblog - July 8, 2012

    […] As previously mentioned, I spent two weeks in Florida visiting family and friends. I haven’t lived full time in Florida for almost eight years, but being born and raised in Pam Beach County means that this place will always be one of my homes. I definitely took it for granted while I lived there and totally appreciate that this is where I can vacation without having to pay for a hotel: […]

Leave a Reply

