I Triple Dog Dare You!

24 Jan

I recommend that you watch this scene from “A Christmas Story” before reading this post.

Today, four of our grade four students stuck their tongues to a set of metal bleachers.

Since November I have wondered about this. I asked one of the other Teaching Assistants about it after I saw a kid standing next to a light pole without any real reason for being there. She assured me that it wasn’t nearly cold enough yet for that to be a problem, but went on to share a story of when her sister tried it and got stuck during a Canadian winter. Luckily, these kids all made it through the experience without too much trouble, just a trip to the nurse and some sore tongues.

I’m not sure if there were any triple dog dares involved.

до свидания!

2 Responses to “I Triple Dog Dare You!”

  1. j.p. January 24, 2012 at 18:57 #

    how do you separate the tongue from the bleachers? warm water?

    • Ivanna the Terriblog January 24, 2012 at 19:09 #

      Surprisingly, they didn’t even make a big enough deal out of it for me to even notice across the field when it happened. It appears that they pulled their tongues off, so it mustn’t have been too bad for them. I believe a bit of tongue was left behind, though.
      Also, surprisingly, it wasn’t the group of boys that I would have expected!

Leave a Reply

