Baby, It’s Cold Outside

23 Jan

“So, how cold is it today?”

“Right now: -18… But that’s if you’re in a corner, away from the wind. With the wind, who knows?”

That was part of a conversation that took place this afternoon after I spent 25 minutes outside supervising recess. For those of you keeping track in Fahrenheit, that would be -0.4 degrees. We have yet to reach the too-cold-for-outside-time temperature, though.

I am pretty surprised how quickly I have adjusted to the snow, though. It is EVERYWHERE and most of the time I don’t even stop to think about it now. Fortunately, I still can appreciate how beautiful it is when it is falling in big, fluffy snowflakes. I have managed to stay on my feet after my first fall, but have had a few little slides making me extra cautious.

I can also now truly appreciate warm-clothing. In addition to the standard items (down jacket, gloves/mittens, scarves, and hats), I have discovered the need for tights, leggings,  legwarmers, and boot socks. These are no longer simply fun parts of my wardrobe, they are worn daily since I cannot wear jeans to work and end up wearing a lot of skirts and dresses. Even with jeans or pants something must be worn under them and sometimes long johns won’t fit. A couple layers of tights and leggings, combined with boot socks really helps. Do I sometimes look silly walking around with socks pulled up over my knees? Yes. However, if my knees are a little warmer then it is worth the silliness.

I am trying not to over-post about the cold, but there are some days when it really is a major factor in our everyday life here and I think it’s worth mentioning. The good news is that this post was typed in our warm apartment, so at the end of the day we have a great place to relax and thaw out.

до свидания!

One Response to “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”

  1. John Remy January 24, 2012 at 03:03 #

    I think this is all the more compelling since you’re from the Sunshine State!

Leave a Reply

