Here Come the Holidays

22 Nov

We are entering what is, hands down, my favorite time of the year.

In the past, I would have celebrated Thanksgiving with loved ones and then taken my x-mas tree out of the closet and spent Friday decorating it. I would have searched the Internet, malls, and various shops for the perfect gifts to wrap and place under the tree or mail out across the country. Pumpkin Spice Lattes would be consumed with a dear friend while wearing scarves and hand-warmers in the brisk Southern California winter.

This year is different, though. 

Thursday and Friday will be spent at work. We may meet up with some American friends for dinner in honor of the holiday, but it will be far from traditional.

As for Christmas, it is not the same celebration here. The big winter holiday, from what I have been told, is New Year’s. They have “New Year’s Trees” instead of “Christmas Trees” and there is a celebration in Red Square much like the Times Square countdown. Also, the Russian Orthodox Christmas does not occur until 7 January, so it’ll be interesting to see what the city is like on 25 December. We most likely will not have a Christmas (or New Year’s) tree of any kind and shopping for gifts will be a different process.

The strange thing is that even though I know my holiday season will be completely different this year, I am beyond ready for it to begin. I think that the cold weather has me excited about spending the holidays in a very “White Christmas” manner. A winter playlist of holiday music has been started and I will be finding a way to stream some of my holiday movie classics.

When Ben and I began celebrating x-mas in California we created some new traditions and found that we made the holiday work for us given our setting. This year we will begin that process again and see how it turns out. As for my loved ones back in the States, video-chat coffee dates will be scheduled and gift giving practices will be adjusted. I will admit that I expect this to be one of the most difficult parts of our first year here for me, but I’m hoping there is enough winter magic out there to get through it.

до свидания!

One Response to “Here Come the Holidays”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Excited Post « Ivanna the Terriblog - December 17, 2012

    […] lives with them.  I am also glad that they are crazy enough to visit during winter.  Last year I posted about how I expected the holidays to be very different, and they certainly were.  This year will be different also, but I am looking forward to having […]

Leave a Reply

