Proceed with Caution

15 Nov

We have had consistently cold weather with a few more snowfalls since my last post. Today was particularly icy, though. There was ice covering the playground and field during outdoor recess and I passed many icy puddles and patches on my walk home. A rather rough few steps between my shuttle and the metro station lead to this blog post.

Since I know enough from past experience that it is not a question of if I will slip on ice and fall this winter, but a question of when it will happen for the first time, I decided to let you have a little fun with it. Use the comments below to guess when my first slip that results in an actual fall will occur. I’ll post again when it happens and let you know who had the closest guess.

до свидания!

6 Responses to “Proceed with Caution”

  1. Nathanael November 15, 2011 at 21:46 #

    Wednesday, December 21st at 8:37am. 😉

  2. Bekah November 15, 2011 at 21:52 #

    I have these and love them! Definite necessity and they have traction on the bottom!

    http://www.thenorthface.com/catalog/sc-gear/womens-footwear/womens-nuptse-bootie-fur-iv.html?from=subCat&variationId=RJ5yyy

  3. Keith November 15, 2011 at 22:16 #

    According to the weather, it’ll rain/snow again on Thursday. I think that you will be careful for that day. It’ll also rain/snow Friday. TWO days of such weather and you start getting overly confident.

    I cast my vote for Friday, late in the day.

    Secondarily, it’ll be colder on Monday – taking your mind off your feet in favor of warming your hands. So. My second choice is Monday morning.

    • Kevin Gavagan November 15, 2011 at 23:23 #

      Following Keith’s weather report, I will go with Saturday evening. It will still be cold, you and Ben will go out for a couple of drinks and blam-o, Jes on her ass.

  4. Dawn November 16, 2011 at 08:43 #

    My mom gave me a pair of these the first winter I moved home to Vermont. I walked to and from work for two winters with these things and never fell. And I ALWAYS fall. My shift ended at midnight, so it was always bitterly cold and icy on the return walk home. I cannot recommend these enough. Just don’t wear them indoors, ironically they make walking on hard floors treacherous!

    http://www.amazon.com/Yaktrax-Walker-Traction-Cleats-Snow/dp/B001CZJBKM/ref=pd_sim_k_4

  5. Heather November 17, 2011 at 23:53 #

    Since we have the same genes and presumably the same sense of balance (but with great reflexes!), I’m guessing you’ve already gone down at least once but are in denial since you caught yourself on something or someone nearby.

Leave a Reply

