Making the World a Little Smaller

19 Jun

Today I has a Skype video call with my parents, sister, and brother-in-law. It was so nice to be able to see all of their faces and to wish my dad a happy Father’s Day that way.

My parents are in Florida, my sister and her husband are in North Carolina, and I have been in California for seven years, yet this is only the third time that I have used Skype and all three calls occurred after we decided to move. We have always talked on the phone and e-mailed, never taking advantage of video chat. I have enjoyed the experience so much, though, that I really wish we started using it earlier.  

In addition to using the internet to keep in touch with family and friends, I will continue to take classes from Moscow and will graduate while there with my Master’s from a California university. I’m really glad that we are making this move during a time when the internet makes the world just a little bit smaller. There is no substitute for seeing people in person, but there are so many amazing options these days to communicate across distances.

до свидания!

Leave a Reply

