On the Job Hunt

3 Jun

The top three questions that I receive when I tell someone that I am moving to Moscow are:

  • How do you feel about moving to Russia?
  • Is Nebbie (кошка) going?
  • What are you going to do there?

The answers are, respectively, “SO EXCITED!!!,” “Yes!,” and “I have no idea.”  

I will continue to work on my Master’s degree (I ❤ distance education!), but I also plan to find a job as soon as possible. The university at which Ben will be working is not able to provide employment for me as a spouse, but they have offered to assist me in my job search. This is very much appreciated as they will have a number of English-speaking contacts throughout a city in which I have none. I sent off a general version of my resume along with some details about what my ideal positions are, what I have previously done, and the fact that, above all, I need a job that will allow me to speak English exclusively.

After keeping my eye on one organization’s website, I was able to find an opportunity online on my own and have officially applied to my first job in Moscow!

A few weeks ago I thought about what my best case scenario would be and this position was it. If it doesn’t work out, I will move on – there is a lot more to experience in Moscow than the perfect job. But, for the moment, I’m crossing my fingers and hoping for the best!

до свидания!

One Response to “On the Job Hunt”

  1. John Remy June 7, 2011 at 00:37 #

    Wishing you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

